2EYES: Don’t Mess With Me

21 Jun

Another Rookie group for 2013. Each one has been better than the last and hopefully 2EYES will continue that trend with their debut song Don’t Mess With Me.

2eyes1

I was am not a fan of this song. Let me just put that out there. It doesn’t stand out for me. The other notable Rookies of 2013 have been mind-blowingly incredible and they choose songs that would stick with the audience. Global Icon’s Beatles, BTS’s No More Dream, LC9’s Ma Beat. Each has something distinct about them that made you want to listen to the song. Usually it was a mix of fierce choreography and an incredible beat. This song has neither. I’m not sure what they were doing either. It seemed like it was an attempt at rap but also like it was singing. It was more like talking until the chorus or a member had a high note. It was really just unremarkable.

After listening to the song multiple times the only thing I could remember was the chorus simply because I’d seen it in the teaser. I didn’t it there and I still don’t like it. They should have chosen a different approach. They can sing well I will give them that but apart from that everything else was just off. They didn’t seem super confident with this concept and it didn’t fit. It seemed like it was supposed to be hip hop but the song didn’t fit it. It was more house music than it was hip hop. The song just isn’t something that would be I would be particularly inclined to purchase.

The choreography also wasn’t that remarkable considering what we’ve seen from other Rookies this year. I will compare them to Global Icon since they are both females Rookies. The beat in Beatles was incredible the rappers were extraordinary and the singers were fantastic. The concept was spot on for the song. The choreography was also really cool. 2EYES didn’t have any of that. This routine was just blah. It’s quite hard to learn KPOP dances but this didn’t have any of the intensity that others have shown.

Everything about 2EYES is just ok. It’s not remarkable but it’s not terrible either. It is simply ok. Their comeback needs to be incredible otherwise they will quickly overshadowed by other groups.  They are pretty I will give them that. Maybe a sexy or cute concept would have been good. They could have even mixed them. This concept, the BAMF image, doesn’t suit them at all. I usually am a fan of that; 2NE1 and Global Icon to just name a few. This however didn’t work for me. They don’t give off the BAMF aura/vibe. They should have done something that catered to their looks. Maybe that would have helped them because this approach didn’t. It’s a very weak debut. I just need more from them.

I’ll of course watch their live stages. Maybe their intro song will fit them a bit better. If it doesn’t I really hope they are good on variety shows.

*RESEARCH BREAK*

I had to look up what company they were from to see if I’ heard of anyone from there. JAY PARK is under SidusHQ along with them. He just wrote a song for TINY G so I’m sure if 2EYES asked Jay wouldn’t mind helping out a label mate.

One Response to “2EYES: Don’t Mess With Me”

  1. buy instagram followers June 23, 2014 at 2:14 AM #

    This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog
    (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you
    had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply. You know you want to.